Video game Localization difficulties

Video game localization is a subject that’s constantly overlooked in the industry despite being the main reason why video games are so big these days. My digital artifact is a podcast that highlights the ins and outs of the localization industry. The main aim of this project is to inform and bring to light hidden or overlooked information about the industry.

The main reason I picked this topic to explore is because my goal is to one day join a localization team. There is so much talk regarding what it takes to be a game creator or how to become a game programmer but there is very little discussion regarding localization. To learn about the elusive industry, I took it upon myself to look into it. In doing so, I’ve learned much about it. The podcast is the fruits of my research.

As for why a podcast was chosen to be the medium of my digital artifact, it’s because simplicity. While the podcast itself is mostly composed of factual content, the use of audio allows for some jokes here and there. This is so it doesn’t become bland or boring as a result. Podcasts themselves are meant to be relaxing and left on in the background while the listener does something else. The digital artifact was made with that intention as well.

The most challenging part of a podcast is getting the volume levels right. Sadly because of limited resources, I wasn’t able to get the sound I wanted with the headset I used for recording. It was indeed a challenge but after tweaking with Audacity for a bit, I was able to get the audio to a decent level. In order to make sure the podcast was up to par for what I needed, I listened to various recordings of the podcast to see if I could listen to it over and over while doing work. With this method I was able to get the podcast quality to what I wanted.

In terms of how research was done, most of it was looking through a lot of academic journals for academic information and looking online. Information regarding an already rarely discussed topic was a challenge to find but thankfully useful information was found. Sadly due to my own tight schedule, I wasn’t able to get in contact with some people within the industry as their schedule didn’t align with mine. With that said however, the amount of information coming from various places I was able to bring in different perspectives and a lot of facts regarding localization.

Without further adieu:

Leave a Reply

